The Security+ is the standard validation for the workforce to effectively combat hackers, network attacks and security threats.

The CompTIA Security+ certification tests for security knowledge, based on two years on-the-job networking experience, with an emphasis on security. A vendor neutral certification on the concepts associated with network security, this certification exam covers communication security, infrastructure security, cryptography, access control, authentication, external attack and operational and organizational security.

CompTIA Security+ is an elective or prerequisite to advanced security certifications. The Security+ is also part of the recommended level of knowledge to begin certification as Microsoft Certified IT Professional (MCITP). One certification exam is required.

Take CET 1660 and prepare for the Security+ certification.

Required exams:

  • Security+ (SY0-301 or JK0-018)

Security+ certification is appropriate for:

  • Programmers
  • Network engineers
  • Site administrators
  • Technical support specialists

Course required:
CET 1660 Intro to Network Security