BAE Systems/OWC High School Math Bowl Winners Announced


NICEVILLE, FL ---Teams from 21 northwest Florida high schools recently competed in the 21st annual Math Bowl at Okaloosa-Walton College at the college's Niceville campus. More than 170 students participated in the day-long competition which was co-sponsored by BAE Systems of Fort Walton Beach.

The BAE Systems/OWC Math Bowl featured events in solving mathematics problems on a written test and ciphering matches in which teams were pitted against each other in a race against time to correctly solve various algebra, trigonometry, analytic geometry, plane geometry, calculus and miscellaneous problems.

Competing schools were divided into three divisions, based on school size. In the small school division, Rocky Bayou Christian School placed first, followed by Okaloosa-Walton College Collegiate High School in second place and John Paul II Catholic High School of Tallahassee in third place.

In individual awards in this division, Hyeong Yun Cha of Rocky Bayou won first place followed by Miller Hederi of OWC Collegiate High, Joseph Lepley of John Paul II, Sillo Jin of Rocky Bayou, Matt McDorman of Rocky Bayou, Kim Harrison of Rocky Bayou, Patrick Tully of OWC Collegiate, Melinda Osborne of OWC Collegiate, Ryan Sweeney of John Paul II, and Patricia Young of John Paul II.

In the medium school category, Rickards High School of Tallahassee took top honors, followed by Gulf Breeze High School in second place, Navarre High School in third place, Pensacola High School in fourth place, and South Walton High School in fifth place.

In individual awards in this division, Eli Ross of Rickards placed first, followed by Suvrat Jain of Rickards, Cheran Wu of Rickards, Christopher Kim of Rickards, Logan Rejola of Gulf Breeze, Justin Engle of Gulf Breeze, Joel Willougby of Navarre, Michael Laughlin of Navarre, Daniel Goff of Pensacola, and Patrick Cooke of Gulf Breeze. In the large school category, Chiles High School from Tallahassee placed first, followed by Lincoln High School from Tallahassee in second place, Leon High School of Tallahassee in third, and Choctawhatchee High School in fourth.

In individual awards in this category, first place went to Gaku Liu of Chiles, followed by Michael Duckett of Lincoln, Carolyn Kim of Chiles, Patrick Smith of Chiles, William Tsai of Leon, Gina Shetty of Chiles, Jiterh Kuntawala of Lincoln, Spencer Ellinor of Lincoln, David Horner of Lincoln, and Robert Palmer of Leon.

Site Login