Mattie Kelly Arts Center Volunteer Docents & Ushers Honored


The Mattie Kelly Fine and Performing Arts Center at Okaloosa-Walton College recently honored the more than 150 volunteer docents and ushers who served this past arts season. The Mattie Kelly Arts Center ushers volunteered more than 9,000 hours this year and the Art Gallery docents volunteered more than 1,200 hours this year. Volunteer ushers direct patrons to their seats, hand out programs and most importantly, present a warm welcome to patrons of all events held at the Mattie Kelly Arts Center. Volunteer Art Gallery docents help enhance the viewing experience of visitors to the center's two galleries by offering information and insight about current exhibitions and the college's permanent art collections. Docents also present a traveling art exhibit in local schools.

Ushers and docents normally commit to serve several times each season, September through July, and receive training. Ushers receive complimentary admission to the show occurring the night they serve. Docents who serve in the art galleries prior to a theater performance may also receive complimentary admission on a space available basis. Additional volunteer docents and ushers are needed. For information on becoming an usher contact Delores Merrill, House Manager, at 729-6065 and for information on becoming an art gallery docent contact Petra Hartzog at the art galleries at 729-6044.

Recognized for serving as Ushers during the 2007-08 arts season were:

DeFuniak Springs: Tom Wentz

Destin: Anna & Wayne Leone, Jeanette Moerschel, Steve Strauss

Fort Walton Beach: Barbara Banning, Marianne Coil, Gloria Deberry, Pam & Leroy Donald, Betty & Fred Doyle, Nancy & Charley Dyess, Judith Flasco, Don Gates, Dodie & Dan Glowa, Una & Jim Heavener, Maryann Helfrich, Mary-Anne Lovato, Avi Nusimow, Linda Sullivan, Valarie Valade, Judy Wilbur

Mary Esther: Diana & Donald Wade

Miramar Beach: Mary Ellen Hable

Navarre: Ann Waters

Niceville: Inge Ackerman, Judy Alley, Darlene Anderson, Eileen & Charles Arpke, Audrey Bailey, Judi Bernstein, Phil Block, Michele Boles, Kay Brewer, Jane Broestler, Yolanda Byrd, Angie Coleman, Joy Crimmins, Sammie & Stan Davis, Sandy Dye, Neville Edenborough, Jan & Kurt Eichorst, Jean Far, Tom Feick, Lee Fryer, Katie Furby, Shirlee Gillett, Michele Gomez, Marjorie Cox Gray, Dee Gulbranson, Susie Hagwood, Audrey & Bob Hains, Laurie Hardy, Eleanor Harris, Be Hinley, Debbie & Dan Hollis, Helen Hooper, Sharon Johnson, Carol Lumsden, Marilyn Lyttle, Emily Maheu, Scotta Mahugh, Gilbert March, Cheryl McDermott, Joan McCarthy, Sandra & C.V. Miller, Sue & Lee Marion, Dianne Maynard, Connie Morgan, Donna & Bob Newton, Joanne & John Palm, Sharlot Parker, Donna Quinn, Bill Readdy, Vicki Richburg, Roxanne Ruckdeschel, George Sebren, Ann Shambo, Anne Smith, Paul Summitt, Barbara & Bill Thaler, Karen Thomhave, David Vaughan, Judy Van Reese, Gary Wendel, Nancy Whitehouse, Liz Williams, Mary Jo Wimsatt, Sandy Wood, Lillie Woods

Shalimar: Barbara & George Cilek, Kay & Troy Dent, Ed Fox, Nancy Litten, Sheila Stetzler

Valparaiso: Pat D'Aquila, June Jepson, Edith Santucci, Jean Smith

Recognized for serving as Art Gallery Docents during the 2007-08 arts season were:

Crestview: Bob & Mary Bayer, Richard Lehnert

Destin: Tann Dallas, Janet Rappazini

Fort Walton Beach: Mary Lou Catron, Ethel Stuth

Navarre: Donna Holovack

Niceville: Bev Barefield, Ruth Ann Carroll, Tom Feick, Renata Gauvin, Shirlee Gillett, Audrey Hains, Kay Harter, Claire & John Hipp, Marilyn Koser, Marilyn Mefford, Connie Morgan, Marion Mundy, Janet Pandzik, Neil Reilly, Elizabeth Shwiller, Diane Siwicki, Joan Todd-Hoole

Shalimar: Doris Berg, Ed & Cathy Fox, Biruta LaCelle, Nancy Litten, Pat & Vivian Marcus, Kathleen (Taty) Saunders

Valparaiso: Kay Harter, June Jepson

Site Login