OWC Nursing Graduates Honored at Pinning Ceremony


The Nursing programs at Okaloosa-Walton College held a pinning ceremony May 13 to recognize the students who completed the Associate of Science in Nursing and Bachelor of Science in Nursing degrees. Associate of Science graduates are qualified to take the Registered Nursing (RN) licensure exam. The Bachelor of Science (BSN) graduates are current RN's who completed the requirements for the baccalaureate degree. The OWC nursing faculty expressed special thanks to Wayne Campbell, Chief Operating Officer of Fort Walton Beach Medical Center, for donating the nursing pins for the ceremony.

In a first for the OWC Nursing program, one of the BSN graduates Edita Dungca was commissioned as an officer in the United States Air Force as part of the pinning ceremony. Dungca took the oath of office led by Lt. Col. Teresa Ryan and she accepted her traditional first salute from her husband, a retired military member.

Also recognized at the ceremony with special awards were: Kathleen Goebel with the "Joe Davis Cares Award"; Dawn Herbert-Miles with the "Clinical Excellence in Nursing Award"; Lindsey Hogg with the "Academic Excellence in Nursing Award"; Travis Martin with the "Future Nurse Leadership Award"; and Leonora Claudio with the "Lamp of Nursing Leadership Award." Kathleen Goebel and Teressa Hudson were recognized for being named among OWC students in "Who's Who Among American Junior Colleges."

Associate of Science in Nursing Graduates:

Crestview: Jennifer Bray, Khursana Duty, Julian Elges, Lindsey Hogg, Kathryn Hogg, Teressa Hudson, Alissa Kahler, Sarah Lindsay, Brandie Postrero, Brandi Seay, Heather Sneed, Delicia Watkins

Destin: Kathleen Goebel, Travis Martin, Bethany Wood, Tressa Wood

Eglin AFB: Melissa Lewis, Shannon Snowden

Florala, AL: Sheila Vega

Fort Walton Beach: Jenesa Dawe, Margaret Evetts, Dawn Herbert-Miles, Kevin McSheehy, Tracy Robbins, Wendy Spainhour, Craig Wright

Haughton, LA: Vanessa Andriacco

Hurlburt Field: Angela Mathes

Mary Esther: Katlyn Putz

Navarre: Melissa Eckstein

Niceville: Laura Costley, Cheri Denney, Misti Schneidewind, Dorsey Whalen, Helene Woodley

Pensacola: Andrea Rinke

Shalimar: Rosalee Wangerin

Bachelor of Science in Nursing Graduates:

Baker: Cristelei Cadenhead, Molly Howze

Bonifay: Meaghan Taylor

Crestview: Angela Rae Bowdren, Jeff Claudio, Leonora Claudio, Amy Moore, Christine Zeisler

Mary Esther: Marryanne Allen, Deborah Lane Cook, Edita Dungca

Navarre: Kameko McGuire, Roselle Womack

Niceville: Cheri Jones

Pensacola: Angie McConnico

Santa Rosa Beach: Lindsey Graf, Wanda Radford, Mary Steele

Valparaiso: Constance Stumbaugh

Site Login