Northwest Florida State College Recognizes Paramedic Graduates


Northwest Florida State College recently recognized the 2008 class of students who successfully completed the college's Paramedic vocational certificate program at the end of Summer term.

Barry Reed, EMT/Paramedic/EMS Program Manager for the college, noted that the NWF State College graduates are eligible to sit for the Florida Paramedic certification exam and the National Registry examination. They have all successfully completed a rigorous 1,206 hours of classroom time and 676 hours of clinical training on ambulances and in hospitals. In addition to their receiving their certificate, all the paramedic graduates are now certified in Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS), Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS), Acute Coronary Care Syndrome (ACS), Advanced Stroke Life Support (ASLS), and International Trauma Life Support (ITLS).

New students may begin the Paramedic program each August, but applications for admission to the program are accepted on a year-round basis. The program can be completed in three semesters beyond the EMT level and prepares students to apply for the examination to Florida certified or Nationally Registered Paramedics. For information contact 729-4924 or see the program's webpage at

The Paramedic program at NWF State College is part of the Public Safety Division which also includes degree and certificate programs for Emergency Medical Technicians (EMT), Emergency Medical Services (EMS), Emergency Administration & Management, Law Enforcement and Corrections.

All the college's health related programs of study, including Nursing, Dental Assisting, Radiography, EMT and Paramedic will hold an information session and open house for prospective students on October 14 at 5:30 p.m. at the college's Niceville campus in Building K.

Paramedic Certificate Graduates include:

Baker: Matthew Baxley

Bonifay: Jason Matthew Durko

Crestview: Christopher Clark, Joshua L. Conley, Jason L Oliver

DeFuniak Springs: Thomas D. Mosley Jr

Eglin AFB: Leah C. Toney

Fort Walton Beach: Megan S. Robertson, James T. White II

Mary Esther: George W. Lee, Ralph J. Matthews II

Navarre: Thearon Shipman

Niceville: John P. Beirne, Anthony W. Evans, Christopher Kidder

Shalimar: Douglas A. Brown, Thomas Schmelzle

Site Login