News Item

OWCC Forensics Wins at State, Headed for Nationals in California


The forensics team at Okaloosa-Walton Community College won several state championship honors at the recent Florida Intercollegiate Forensics Association (FIFA) tournament, in competition against university and community college teams from across the state. The wins qualify certain team members for the national tournament to be held in April in California.

"To qualify for nationals in competition against university teams is quite an accomplishment," said Lisa Hagen, OWCC Coordinator of Student Activities.

The tournament is one of two state-championship-level competitions in which the O-W team participates; one includes university teams, the other -- at which the O-W team will compete in February -- includes only two-year colleges.

"We may have additional team members who qualify for nationals from our next tourney," said Hagen. "I hope we're able to hit California by storm and take our entire team!"

The following students won First-Place state championship honors and will travel to nationals:

CEDA Debate Team: Preston Biller of Niceville and Mark Owens of Destin
CEDA Speaker Award: Preston Biller
Program Oral Interpretation: Mark Owens
Poetry Interpretation: Mark Owens
Pentathlon (competition in 5 or more individual events): Mark Owens

The following students won Second-Place honors and also qualify to travel to the national tournament:

CEDA Debate Team: Molly Tandy of Mary Esther & Doug Wercinski of Niceville
CEDA Speaker Award: Molly Tandy
Lincoln/Douglas Debate: Molly Tandy
Lincoln/Douglas Speaker Award: Molly Tandy
Parliamentary Debate Team: Mark Owens and Doug Wercinski
Parliamentary Speaker Award: Mark Owens
Extemporaneous Speaker: Mark Owens

The OWCC team also first place Debate Sweepstakes, second place Overall Sweepstakes and third place Individual Events Sweepstakes, as well as various other third, fourth and sixth place individual honors. The Joy McClintock Traveling Trophy was also awarded to OWCC as being the team who accumulated the most points during the year.

Site Login