NWF State College hosts annual Student Awards Day ceremony


Northwest Florida State College recently held its annual Student Awards Day ceremony. Those recognized for student achievement for the 2014-2015 academic year include the following:

2014-2015 All Florida Academic Team: Ian Eberle of Crestview, Bethany Fralish of Niceville, and Stephanie Moore of Ponce De Leon.

2015 William T. Hall Pacesetter Award: Leonard Jordan III of Fort Walton Beach.

29th Annual James and Christian LaRoche Memorial Poetry Contest: FIRST PLACE: Katie Dineen of Shalimar; SECOND PLACE: Savannah Gahagan of Destin.

BSN Academic Achievement Awards in Nursing: 4.0 PROGRAM GPA: Samantha Arnett of Fort Walton Beach; Shawn Enos of Mary Esther; Benjamin Glidden, Lidia Grandinaru, and Natalie Sebolboro of Navarre; John Beirne, Ashley Duncan, Elaine Gaither, and Kellie Littlefield of Niceville; Bryan Pruess and Aurelia Stone, of Panama City Beach; Erin Gray and Shawn Taylor of Pensacola; Joseph Duda and Tracy Perk of Santa Rosa Beach; and Eric Hinojosa of Valparaiso.   

BSN Academic Excellence in Nursing Award: HIGHEST CUMULATIVE GPA: Lidia Gradinaru of Navarre.

Early Childhood Education Honors Students: Angela Sternke Arreloa of Mary Esther, and Laleta Fingerall of Niceville.

Early Childhood Education Student of the Year: Sabine Claybrook of Crestview.

Excellence in Teacher Education, Fall 2014: Chelsey Farrill of Biloxi, Miss.

Excellence in Teacher Education, Spring 2015:Kayla Cheung of Destin.

Florida College System Activities Association Forensics Student of the Month, January 2015: Teagan Dennis of Fort Walton Beach.

Holly Guiles Math Achievement Award: Lance Hatcher of Crestview.

Outstanding Achievement in Costume Arts: Bettye Keefer of Crestview; Dakota Blankenship and Malcolm Brodie of Fort Walton Beach.

Outstanding Achievement in Dance: LEADERSHIP: Ashley Fair of Laurel Hill; MOST IMPROVED: Hannah McGlamory of Fort Walton Beach.

Outstanding Achievement in Madrigal Singers: Anna Christopherson of Fort Walton Beach, and Katie Pickler of Niceville; OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT IN VOICE: Anna Christopherson of Fort Walton Beach; MOST IMPROVED: Sean Royal of Mary Esther.

Outstanding Achievement in Show Choir: DEDICATED SERVICE: Sean Royal of Mary Esther; LEADERSHIP: Donovan Black and Katie Pickler of Niceville; MOST IMPROVED: Arin Walker of Niceville.

Outstanding Achievement in Technical Theatre: John McCullough of DeFuniak Springs; Malcom Brodie and Logan Clinkingbeard of Fort Walton Beach; Olivia Rivera of Niceville; and Lydia Phillips of Shalimar.

Outstanding Achievement in Visual Arts: Sarah Hawkins and Heather Sasser of Crestview; Colby Detwiler of Niceville; and Nobuko Landers of Shalimar.

Outstanding Achievement in Voice: Donovan Black and Katie Pickler of Niceville.   

Outstanding Acting Performance in a Northwest State College Production: Greater Tuna: Dakota Blankenship of Fort Walton Beach, Carla Von Kaenel of Niceville, and Lydia Phillips of Shalimar; Hamlet: Bettye Keefer of Crestview; Jason Mueller of Fort Walton Beach; Sean Royal of Mary Esther; Ryan Collister of Niceville; Dylan Garofalo and Megan Garofalo of Santa Rosa Beach.

Outstanding Math Student: Kevin Francis of Crestview.

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Ross Hamilton Participation Award: Ian Eberle and Sarah Lehotay of Crestview; Kaleigh Suddarth of Destin; Brittany Boothe, Anthony Brown, and Paul Swiney of Fort Walton Beach; Tristan Colpitts, Bethany Fralish, and Mike Tanguilig of Niceville; and Donna Wojciechowski of Valparaiso.

Rookie RaiderReps of the Year: Mikayla Fluhrer of Crestview, Chase Knight of Fort Walton Beach, Daceya McDuffie of Niceville.

SGA Student Leader of the Year: President Rachel Gilroy of Freeport.

SkillsUSA Florida Region 1 Champions: Computer Programming: FIRST PLACE: Kameron Legg of Baker; SECOND PLACE: Jayce Vanderford of Holt.

SkillsUSA Florida Region 1 Champions: Dental Assisting: FIRST PLACE: Caitlin Slater of Crestview; SECOND PLACE: Hanna Gillette of Fort Walton Beach; THIRD PLACE: Chelsea Holle of Navarre.

SkillsUSA Florida Region 1 Champions: Early Childhood Education: FIRST PLACE: Marilyn Mason of Fort Walton Beach; SECOND PLACE: Mary Swisher of Fort Walton Beach.           

SkillsUSA Florida Region 1 Champions: Technical Drafting: FIRST PLACE: Thomas Myers of Crestview.

SkillsUSA Florida Region 1 Champions: Welding Fabrication: FIRST TEAM: James Darr of Baker, Jack Jensen of Niceville, and Benjamin Dean of Valparaiso.

Teacher Education Honor Students: Elise Jenkins of Crestview; Amber Cherry and Jenna Reeder of Fort Walton Beach; and Farrah Floyd of Niceville.

Who's Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges: Baker: Jennifer Burrage, Tiffany Mathews, and Katie Towe; Cantonment: James Granat; Crestview: Natasha Atkins, Kayla Cheung, Sabine Claybrook, Kacey A. Combs, David Troy Dobson, Ian Eberle, Rebecca Edwards, Shae Fountain, Robin D. Garcia, Rebecca Henry, Charlie M. Hubbard, Sarah Lehotay, Jeff Hoyt McDowell, Elisha Yair Swanner, James Sweeney, Alijah J. Veneszee, Brian Warson, Ronald Leroy Weinstein, Robin Whited, and Laura Williams; DeFuniak Springs: Raymond L. Bolen, Jamie Ellis, and Barbara Lyons; Destin: Maija Campbell, Tiffany Cooper, Kristina Lapstevich, Angela M. Roy, Amber Wall, and Sarah V. Wetzel; Eglin Air Force Base: Katherine Houghton; Fayetteville, Ga.: Hunter Bening; Fort Walton Beach: Jennifer Bell, Angela Bright, Aimee Rhea Burnett, Crystal Cheeseman, Amber Cherry, Alisha Claire Colas, Andra C. Fitzgerald, Omar Hanson, Kerry Horton, Cheryl Lidden, Mary Swisher, Denis L. Teagan, and Michelle Denise Wilders; Freeport: Rachel M Gilroy, Brianna Thames, Elizabeth Jean Van Dyke, and Grace Wells; Hurlburt Field: Jennifer DeJesus and Margaret Mann; Kissimmee: Morgan Crapo; Lindale, Texas: Natasha Malone; Mary Esther: Anna Reitze Hammon, Sara Higgs, Ester A. Molder, and Angela Sternke Arreloa; Miramar Beach: Cacey Leigh Posada; Navarre: Robert Bussard, Avery Geyer, Tiffiny Rae Krupka, Naoko Taylor, and Ashley VanAmburg; Niceville: Mary E. Dennison, Farrah Floyd, Bethany Fralish, Jami Nespoli, William Pfister, Gabrielle Schlink, Amber Lynn Smith, Michael Tanguilig, Laleta Fingall, Elizabeth Hoffman, Makayla Jenkins, Scott Shelton, and Norma Urban; Pensacola: Acey Powell and Tia Sanders; Ponce De Leon: Stephanie Moore; Praireville, La: Ali Delany; Santa Rosa Beach: Summer R. Hatcher, Michelle Hooker, Yoana Ilieva, and Zsuzsanna Major Thomas; Shalimar: Charlotte Jesse Anderson, Shanley Foster Gray, and Heide E. Torres; Shreveport, La: Ryan Leone; Valparaiso: Trisha Marie Ogden, Susan Diane Stevens, and Carrie L. Wicker; Washington, D.C.: Adel Allen; Westville: Amber Hayden.