Two NWF State College students named Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars


Zachary Binford

Northwest Florida State College students Zachary Binford and Irangel Castro Puello have been selected as 2015 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars. More than 1,100 applications were received for the Leaders of Promise Scholarship, and the students’ selection was based on the scores they earned in Phi Theta Kappa's Spring Scholarship Application competition.

Irangel Castro PuelloThe Leaders of Promise Scholarship is designed to provide new members of Phi Theta Kappa – an honor society that recognizes and encourages academic achievement by two-year college students – with financial resources to help defray educational expenses while enrolled in a two-year college and encourage participation in PTK programs.

As Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars, Binford and Castro Puello, who are both members of the NWF State College PTK chapter, will each receive a $1,000 scholarship.

PHOTOS: Irangel Castro Puello (left), Zachary Binford (right)