Northwest Florida State College Logo

Please note that answers will be updated and questions added as needed, with the date of the change or addition noted. This is a rapidly evolving situation, and providing accurate information to ensure the safety of our students, faculty, staff and campuses is our top priority. Additional information regarding NWFSC’s COVID-19/Coronavirus Response Plan will be adjusted as needed.

Click each FAQ to reveal the answer.

Student Coronavirus Questions

Higher Education Emergency Relief

Northwest Florida State College is participating in the Higher Education Economic Relief grant for students. If you are experiencing financial difficulties due to COVID-19 and meet the eligibility requirements, we encourage you to submit an application for funding.

These funds will be sent directly to BankMobile via your refund preference. Please make sure you have selected a refund preference with BankMobile if you submit a grant application. You can check BankMobile here.

UPDATE as of July 12, 2021:

Eligibility Requirements per the Department of Education

  • Students must have completed a 2020-2021 FAFSA
  • Only students who are or could be eligible to participate in programs under Section 484 in Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended (HEA):
    • U.S. citizenship or eligible noncitizen;
    • Valid Social Security number;
    • Registration with Selective Service (if the student is male);
    • A high school diploma, GED, or completion of high school in an approved homeschool setting.
    • Be currently registered for Fall 2020 term.
    • Not owe a refund on title IV grants or Not be in default on title IV loan or have fraudulently obtained or received title IV loans, or in excess of annual or aggregate limits
    • Not have a federal or state conviction for drug possession or sale, with certain time limitations
  • Students who have already received an emergency grant prior to September 1, 2020 are  eligible.

Additionally, the amount of funds you will be eligible to receive will be based on your Expected Family Contribution (EFC) as calculated by your FAFSA. If you are unsure what your EFC number is, please login to your FAFSA account and review your 2020-2021 application.

EFC Potential Award
0-1999 $2000
2000-3999 $2000
4000-5999 $2000
6000-7999 $1800
8000-10000 $1600
> 10,000 $1200

 

For additional information, please call (850) 502-2895 to speak with a Student Success Navigator during normal business hours.

The NWFSC Wellness/Fitness Center in Raider Arena is open for general use by students, employees and the public from 8am – 8pm Mon-Fri.

On Aug 3, 2021, Northwest Florida State College was notified that 2 members of the campus community tested positive for COVID-19. In coordination with local health officials, the College has identified the days and locations this person was on campus. With that information, all individuals who potentially had contact with the person were notified. In alignment with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and local health officials, Northwest Florida State College has developed protocols for dealing with positive cases and is following those protocols.

On Aug 2, 2021, Northwest Florida State College was notified that 2 members of the campus community tested positive for COVID-19.

On July 27, 2021, Northwest Florida State College was notified that 4 members of the campus community tested positive for COVID-19.

On July 26, 2021, Northwest Florida State College was notified that 3 members of the campus community tested positive for COVID-19.

From March 13, 2020 – April 30, 2021, there have been 70 COVID-19 confirmed positive cases.

 

The latest information about Northwest Florida State College’s response to COVID-19 is available on our Coronavirus Updates page.

People who have tested positive for COVID-19.

If you had a positive COVID-19 test AND have remained asymptomatic, you may discontinue isolation when at least 10 days have passed since your first positive COVID-19 test. If you test positive for COVID-19 and HAVE symptoms, then you must self-isolate for 10 days after symptom onset and resolution of fever for at least 24 hours, without the use of fever-reducing medications, and with improvement of symptoms.

People who have been in close contact with someone who has COVID-19 – excluding people who have had COVID-19 within the past 3 months. 

People who have tested positive for COVID-19 do not need to quarantine or get tested again for up to 3 months as long as they do not develop symptoms again. People who develop symptoms again within 3 months of their first bout of COVID-19 may need to be tested again if there is no other cause identified for their symptoms.

What counts as close contact?

  • You were within 6 feet of someone who has COVID-19 for a total of 15 minutes or more
  • You provided care at home to someone who is sick with COVID-19
  • You had direct physical contact with the person (hugged/kissed them)
  • You shared eating or drinking utensils
  • They sneezed, coughed, or somehow got respiratory droplets on you

Steps to take

  • Self-quarantine for 14 days, if the person (close contact) reports no symptoms
  • Watch for fever (100.4 F), cough, shortness of breath or other symptoms of COVID-19
  • If possible, stay away from others, especially people who are at higher risk for getting very sick from COVID-19

Yes, hand sanitizer is available across all campus and center locations.