College Profile

Serving students and helping them reach their educational goals is the central focus of the NWFSC faculty, staff, administration and trustees.  The "Emerald Coast" service area of Northwest Florida State College stretches from the Gulf of Mexico to the Alabama state line and includes some of the nation's largest military facilities, premiere tourist destinations and a growing population base. 

Established in 1963 as Okaloosa-Walton Junior College, the institution changed its name to Okaloosa-Walton Community College in 1988 to reflect its growing mission in the region. In 2003 the college received approval from the State Board of Education and accreditation by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to grant baccalaureate degrees. As a level 2 baccalaureate institution, the college became Okaloosa-Walton College in 2004 and Northwest Florida State College in 2008. 

As part of Florida's system of 28 public state and community colleges, NWFSC is committed to the full community college mission and to providing expanded opportunities for citizens to earn a baccalaureate degree. NWFSC currently offers five bachelor's degree programs in the areas of management, teacher education and nursing.