NWF State College’s Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Inducts New Members and Announces All-Florida Academic Team

Photo Caption: (L-R, front row) Josie Barton, Emily Checchio, Zachary Lambert, Marie Ream and Cathryn Robinson (L-R, back row) Donna Scott, Natasha Skrovanek, Aaron Sutherland, Emily Wixtrom and Alana Woods

NICEVILLE, FL -The Sigma Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Northwest Florida State College recently inducted 85 new members to their ranks. Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is the international honor society of two-year colleges and academic programs. In order to be eligible for induction to PTK, a student must be enrolled at full-time status and have maintained a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.5 out of 4.0.  The student must then maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average of a 3.25 out of 4.0 to remain in good standing. Please reference inductee names at the end of this news release.

On February 19, 10 NWF and Collegiate High School students were selected for the All-Florida Academic Team by PTK.  This year’s statewide team consists of approximately 150 students. Each year, PTK recognizes outstanding students in the Florida College System based on academic achievement, leadership and service to the community by naming them to the All-Florida Academic Team. Students are nominated by their respective colleges to the All-USA Academic Team competition sponsored by the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society and USA Today.

“We are tremendously proud of our newly inducted Phi Theta Kappa members as well as those who were selected for the prestigious honor of being named to the All-Florida Academic Team,” said Dr. Devin Stephenson, President.  “These students continue to represent Northwest Florida State College and their Five-Star chapter at the highest level. They will make a tremendous impact on our campus as they serve as incredible ambassadors.”

Led by Donna Pierson, Faculty Advisor to the Five-Star Sigma Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, members of the All-Florida Academic Team include Josie Barton (DeFuniak Springs), Emily Checchio (Destin), Zachary Lambert (Fort Walton Beach), Marie Ream (Freeport), Cathryn Robinson (Niceville), Donna Scott (Niceville), Natasha Skrovanek (Shalimar), Aaron Sutherland (Crestview), Emily Wixtrom (Eglin AFB) and Alana Woods (Crestview).

The Florida College System, in conjunction with the Phi Theta Kappa Florida Region, hosts an annual event to recognize the All-Florida Academic Team. Students are honored at an awards ceremony during which each student is presented with a medallion. The Florida College System is proud to honor this year’s team on Thursday, April 4 at the Gaylord Resort and Convention Center in Orlando.

For more information regarding the Sigma Mu chapter of PTK, contact Ms. Donna Pierson, Faculty Advisor at 850-729-6416 or [email protected].

PTK Inductees, Spring 2019

Photo Caption: Phi Theta Kappa Spring 2019 Inductees

Phi Theta Kappa Spring 2019 Inductees

Baker: Joshua Maulden

Crestview: Julia Bailey, Rachael Bell, Erin Cabe, Jack Corbin, Sydney Crim, Bryan Cripe, Sunny Garver, Spencer Hall, Gary King Jr., Pio Lazo, Shawn Lewis, Mason McDermid, Bethany Simene, Bryce Taylor, Tyrone Thompson, Rachonn Williamson and Nicholas Wilson

Deerfield Beach: Michael English

DeFuniak Springs: Dalton Harrison

Destin: Madison Pridgen, Michael Saunders and Pamella Villas Boas

Eglin AFB: Daniel Neidigk and Jason Neidigk

Fort Walton Beach: Donald Britt, Veronica De La Luz Lopez, Daniel Dupuy, Amanda Heaton, Carrie Jenkins, Anastasia Johnson, Katelynne Latraille, Payton Nichols, Daina Price, Hannah Robinson, Isabella Rumbough, Abriana Samartino, Darius Scott, Erika Thompson and Kippin Tillman

Freeport: Noah Moffeit

Holt: Lindsey Emiro, Douglas Hunter, Zachary Miller and Nicole Toliver

Laurel Hill: Clayton Allen

Mary Esther: Elisa Acevez and Xuyan Peng

Milton: Elijah Griffin

Miramar Beach: Serghei Berezovschi

Navarre: Rachel Earle, Kelly Jones and Amy Perry

Niceville: Olivia Beales, Teertho Bhattacharya, Noah Bresler, Natalia De Jesus, John Fontejon Hunter Hansill, Melissa Hoover, Sophia Logatto, Anthony Montale, Thanh Nguyen, Paul Ruth, Rachel Vandenbossche, Katherine Weiss, Nathaniel Willard, Joseph Wright and Charles Yancey

Rosemary Beach: Reese Hattaway-Collins

Santa Rosa Beach: Jason Beer, Kenneth Borick, Amanda Gibson, Emma Gibson, Stephen Martin, Daniel McMahan, Elizabeth Savoie, Charles Shipp and Olivia Wilson

Shalimar: Allison Lamay, Michael Maloy, Susan Maranon and Virginia Patrick

Valparaiso: Robert Reed

Winter Garden: Maggie Wheless

Share this article

See All News

Back to News Center