Collegiate High School Wins Big at 32nd Annual Math Bowl

Photo Caption: (L-R) Matthew Nguyen (Valparaiso), Teertho Bhattacharya (Niceville), Eric Fowler (Niceville) and Collin McGovern (Niceville)

NICEVILLE, FL -High school teams from all across Northwest Florida competed in the 32nd annual Math Bowl at Northwest Florida State College on Friday, March 8. This year’s event was made possible through a partnership with Team Eglin and the Munitions Directorate.

“It is a great privilege to continue to host our annual Math Bowl,” said Dr. Devin Stephenson, president. “Through this unique event, some of the brightest young minds within the Northwest Florida region can observe, first-hand how our outstanding personnel make NWF State College a truly student-focused institution.”

After a daylong competition consisting of written exams and ciphering matches, an awards ceremony was held for the event’s team and individual winners.

Team winners

Class X – 1st: South Walton, 2nd: Chipley, 3rd: Seacoast

Class Y – 1st: Collegiate High School at NWF State College, 2nd: Gulf Breeze, 3rd: Pensacola Catholic

Class Z – 1st: Rickards, 2nd: Lincoln, 3rd: Niceville

Individual winners

Class X – 1st: Mark Fisher (South Walton), 2nd: Leo Pan (Chipley), 3rd: Isabella Sniadecki (South Walton)

Class Y – 1st: Teertho Bhattacharya (Collegiate High), 2nd: Eric Fowler (Collegiate High), Yen Nguyen (Pensacola Catholic)

Class Z – 1st: Dylan Epstein-Gross (Rickards), 2nd: Rayyan Darji (Rickards), 3rd: Rohan Davidi (Rickards)

In addition to trophies for individual and team winners, the highest scoring student from each class and school were also given $10 gift cards to assorted restaurants. Door prizes were also handed out during the event thanks to generous donations from our event sponsors.

For more information, please contact Deanna Simpson, Mathematics & Science Department Instructional Support Specialist, at, or 850-729-5376.

Share this article


See All News

Back to News Center