Northwest Florida State College Brain Bowl Team Wins Big to Open 2019-2020 Season

Photo: (back row, left to right) Lana Vo, Brandon Williams, Sheppard Plenge, Daniel Neidigk and Jason Neidigk. (front row, left to right) Teertho Bhattacharya, Collin McGovern, Zane Schmidt and Brain Bowl Faculty Advisor Dr. Kurt Teets. (Stephanie Logan not pictured)

NICEVILLE, FL — On Saturday, October 12, the Northwest Florida State College Brain Bowl team, consisting of an A-Squad and B-Squad, competed in the Santa Fe Fall Invitational at Santa Fe College in Gainesville, Florida.

The NWFSC A-Squad of Teertho Bhattacharya, Collin McGovern and Zane Schmidt won the tournament going 8-0 in their matches with a 5,235 point total and sealing their victory with a 630-190 championship round over Chipola College. They also set an all-time national record for the most points per game at a community college tournament, beating the record by 35 points.

“We are extremely proud of our Brain Bowl team for their impressive, record-setting win in the Santa Fe Fall Invitational,” said Dr. Devin Stephenson, president of NWFSC. “This performance is a direct reflection of the countless hours of dedication our students continuously give to be the best.”

The NWFSC B-Squad of Lana Vo, Brandon Williams, Sheppard Plenge and Stephanie Logan placed 10th in the competition after going 3-5 with a 1,155 point total.

NWFSC Brain Bowl will next be traveling to Orlando to participate in the Delta Burke Invitational on November 7-8, 2019 at Valencia College.

Share this article

See All News

Back to News Center