NWFSC President to Receive Phi Theta Kappa Shirley B. Gordon Award

NICEVILLE, Fla.- Northwest Florida State College President Dr. Devin Stephenson will be among the few college presidents to be honored with the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction during Phi Theta Kappa’s 2022 PTK Catalyst convention, April 7-9, 2022, in Denver, Colorado.

The Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction is PTK’s most prestigious award for community college presidents and is named in honor of the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, Phi Theta Kappa’s longest-serving Board of Directors Chair and long-time president of Highline Community College in Washington.

The award is given to college presidents who have shown strong support of student success on their campus by recognizing academic achievement, leadership, and service among high-achieving students at their colleges. Recipients are nominated by students on their campus and are only eligible to receive the award once over the course of their careers.

In an award letter, PTK President and CEO Lynn Tincher-Ladner stated Dr. Devin Stephenson was nominated for the award due to his work and dedication to “increase student success in entirely unfamiliar circumstances,” including racial and political unrest and a global pandemic that made 2021 one of the most challenging years in recent history. Dr. Stephenson’s nomination is “evidence of the gratitude NWFSC PTK students feel for supporting them and students like them- even during the most difficult times.”

“It is a great honor to be recognized by the Phi Theta Kappa chapter at Northwest Florida State College and to be nominated for the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction,” said Dr. Stephenson. “I am incredibly proud of our students for their perseverance during these past two years. Our PTK students have continued to strive to improve themselves inside and outside of the classroom and have worked hard to make an impact in our community, despite all of the challenges they have faced. This award is a great achievement not only for myself, but also for our Board of Trustees, faculty, and staff who help ensure that our students have all of the opportunities and resources they need to succeed.”

Share this article


See All News

Back to News Center