Two NWFSC Students Named 2024 Coca-Cola Academic Team Scholars


Two NWFSC Students Named 2024 Coca-Cola Academic Team Scholars

NICEVILLE, Fla. – Two Northwest Florida State College (NWFSC) students have been named as 2024 Coca-Cola Academic Team Scholars.

  • Arya Patel, Gold Scholar, from the Chautauqua Center
  • Mary Vanderkooy, Bronze Scholar, from the Robert L F Sikes Education Center

Sponsored by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, the Coca-Cola Academic Team program annually recognizes 150 scholars—50 Gold, 50 Silver, and 50 Bronze—with nearly $200,000 in scholarships. Each scholar is awarded a monetary scholarship and a commemorative medallion.

“We are exceptionally proud of Arya Patel and Mary Vanderkooy for being named 2024 Coca-Cola Academic Team Scholars,” expressed NWFSC President Dr. Devin Stephenson. “This distinction not only highlights their hard work and commitment but also signifies the strength of our academic programs and the supportive learning environment we strive to create. We congratulate them for earning this prestigious recognition and thank the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation for their generous support in empowering our students’ educational aspirations.”

“The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has a long history of providing financial assistance to outstanding students at community colleges,” said Jane Hale Hopkins, President of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. “We are proud to partner with Phi Theta Kappa to make it possible for more deserving students to achieve their educational goals and support tomorrow’s global community leaders.”

Students are nominated for the academic team by their college administrators, based on academic achievement, leadership, and engagement in college and community service. Coca-Cola Academic Team members will be recognized at local and statewide ceremonies, furthermore, they will received international recognition during Phi Theta Kappa’s annual convention, PTK Catalyst, held in Orlando, Florida, April 4-6, 2024.

“We thank the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation for recognizing these student leaders and for investing in their futures,” said Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner, President and CEO of Phi Theta Kappa. “Scholarships such as the ones provided by the Foundation are integral to the success of students in reaching their educational and career goals.”

The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation celebrates and empowers visionary leaders who are refreshing the world. Supporting more than 1,400 exceptional college students each year, it awards $3.55 million in scholarships annually through three nationally recognized programs. For more information, visit

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges. It also helps them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society boasts over 3.8 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 countries, with approximately 240,000 active members in the nation’s colleges.  For more information, visit

Northwest Florida State College (NWFSC) stands as the foremost educational institution in the region, with two campuses, five education centers, and a range of online and dual enrollment options. Guided by a vision to transform lives through exemplary, relevant programs and educational experiences, NWFSC is dedicated to meeting the workforce demands of our ever-changing economy.

For more information about Northwest Florida State College, visit or contact the Office of Strategic Communications at [email protected].

Share this article

See All News

Back to News Center